top of page

I loved those kids

What a summer it has been at Metropolitan United Methodist Church in Detroit. We went on field trips, we had bible studies, we played games, we had a lot of fun, as well as a good amount of headaches. I do not think I will ever forget my summer as a mission intern. The kids at my camp were a handful and a half to the very last day, which was probably the worst behaved day, but I grew to love them even when they were at their worst. I loved those kids because despite some of their hard backgrounds they still showed as much love to each other and to me as I have ever seen. Whether it be Carmen bringing me cup after cup of much needed coffee, Javion helping me deal with some of the more rambunctious younger kids, or even Calvin just behaving and looking at me with a huge grin asking if he was being good today. The kids and the program itself at Metropolitan will never be as perfect or as fine tuned as a Springhill or YMCA camp, but I think it is much more fitting and beneficial for the kids and the camp to keep the camp perfectly imperfect as it has been this summer.

bottom of page